2017 Metro Bureau Thomas D. McLennan Scholarship Award

Thomas D. McLennan, Ph.D., Executive Director of the Metropolitan Detroit Bureau of School Studies, Inc. from 1989 through 2012, established the Metro Bureau Scholarship Fund in 1990.  To date, 272 students have received scholarship awards through this program.  Dr. McLennan spent over 35 years in public education as a teacher, principal, and superintendent.  He created this scholarship program because he cared deeply about public education and recognized the importance of helping students achieve their future educational goals.

This scholarship is open to students currently attending a Metro Bureau member school district and planning to attend either Henry Ford College, Oakland County Community College, Oakland University, Wayne County Community College, or Wayne State University.
Scholarships applications must be submitted by March 3, 2017. 

Click on the image to complete the electronic application

(Note: Depending on your internet browser you may need to click on "Open with Different Viewer" in the top right corner to access the fillable version of the form.)

Once you have completed the application, please print a copy for your records before you click "Submit Application".   Also, you will need to print and submit a Signature Form.   You can submit the signature form via fax at 313-577-8278, U.S. mail or e-mail to pdenson@wayne.edu. You must complete and submit the signature form before your application is considered complete. ONLY COMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE CONSIDERED

You can also complete a paper copy of the application and fax (313-577-8278),  e-mail (pdenson@wayne.edu or daberger@wayne.edu),  or mail a copy to us at 391 College of Education, Wayne State University, Detroit, Michigan 48202.

To be eligible students must:

Be a graduating senior from a high school of a Metro Bureau member school district.

Intend to enroll at one of the folllowing Metro Bureau Member Colleges/Universities:

  • Henry Ford College
  • Oakland County Community College
  • Oakland University
  • Wayne County Community College
  • Wayne State University

The scholarship amount will be $1000.  Recipients are required to provide proof of acceptance at one of the institutions listed above. 

Successful scholarship recipients will receive their scholarship award at their local school district this spring.